Holy Spirit Catholic School 

Holy Spirit School’s Curriculum Vision

"The Australian Curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities important for all Australian students. It is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students. “(ACARA, 2015).
High quality learning and teaching is at the heart of Holy Spirit School.  The ability for all students to access the curriculum is a touchstone of our school community. Learning Enrichment and Support is a key feature at our school.

Learning and Teaching

This includes an educational program based on, and taught in accordance with, the Australian Curriculum learning areas of: 

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Science – History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship, Economics and Business
  • Technologies
  • The Arts – Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, Visual Arts
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Languages


At Holy Spirit School, the Australian Curriculum: English Foundation to Year 10 is organised into three interrelated strands that support students' growing understanding and use of Standard Australian English (English). Together the three strands focus on developing students’ knowledge, understanding and skills in listening, reading, viewing, speaking and writing. The three strands are:

  • Language: knowing about the English language
  • Literature: understanding, appreciating, responding to, analysing and creating literature
  • Literacy: expanding the repertoire of English usage. 


At Holy Spirit School, the Australian Curriculum: Mathematics is organised around the interaction of three content strands and four proficiency strands.

The content strands are Number and Algebra, Measurement and Geometry, and Statistics and Probability. They describe what is to be taught and learnt.

The proficiency strands are Understanding, Fluency, Problem Solving, and Reasoning.


At Holy Spirit School, Science has three interrelated strands: Science Understanding, Science as a Human Endeavour and Science Inquiry Skills.

Together, the three strands of the science curriculum provide students with understanding, knowledge and skills through which they can develop a scientific view of the world. Students are challenged to explore science, its concepts, nature and uses through clearly described inquiry processes.

Humanities and Social Science

The humanities and social sciences are the study of human behaviour and interaction in social, cultural, environmental, economic and political contexts. The humanities and social sciences have a historical and contemporary focus, from personal to global contexts, and consider challenges for the future.

In the Australian Curriculum, the Humanities and Social Sciences learning area comprises four subjects: History, Geography, Economics and Business, Civics and Citizenship.


Technologies enrich and impact on the lives of people and societies globally. Australia needs enterprising individuals who can make discerning decisions about the development and use of technologies and who can independently and collaboratively develop solutions to complex challenges and contribute to sustainable patterns of living. Technologies can play an important role in transforming, restoring and sustaining societies and natural, managed, and constructed environments.

The Australian Curriculum: Technologies describes two distinct but related subjects:

  • Design and Technologies, in which students use design thinking and technologies to generate and produce designed solutions for authentic needs and opportunities.
  • Digital Technologies, in which students use computational thinking and information systems to define, design and implement digital solutions. 

The Arts

At Holy Spirit

School, the Arts is a learning area that draws together related but distinct art forms. While these art forms have close relationships and are often used in interrelated ways, each involves different approaches to arts practices and critical and creative thinking that reflect distinct bodies of knowledge, understanding and skills. The curriculum examines past, current and emerging arts practices in each art form across a range of cultures and places.

The Australian Curriculum: The Arts Foundation to Year 10 comprises five subjects:

  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Media Arts
  • Music
  • Visual Arts

Each subject focuses on its own practices, terminology and unique ways of looking at the world. 

Health and Physical Education

At Holy Spirit School, Health and Physical Education teaches students how to enhance their own and others’ health, safety, wellbeing and physical activity participation in varied and changing contexts. The Health and Physical Education learning area has strong foundations in scientific fields such as physiology, nutrition, biomechanics and psychology which inform what we understand about healthy, safe and active choices.

The Australian Curriculum: Health and Physical Education (F–10) is informed by these sciences and offers students an experiential curriculum that is contemporary, relevant, challenging, enjoyable and physically active.The curriculum is organised into two content strands — Personal, social and community health and Movement and physical activity. Each strand contains content descriptions which are organised under three sub-strands.


At Holy Spirit Catholic School students are offered the opportunity to learn Italian from Year 1 to Year 5. In Years 6 students participate in a semester each of Italian and Japanese. 


Principal: Ms Geraldine Egelton

Hatchett Street
Cranbrook Qld 4814

P: (07) 4779 4255 or (07) 4775 3291
F: (07) 4779 7580
E: crnbrk@tsv.catholic.edu.au

Social Media

We are in week 7 of school holidays
Term 1 starts Tuesday 29 January 2019